Jan Knippers became member of the Akademie der Künste (Academy of Arts) in Berlin

The Architecture Section of the Academy of Arts nominated Jan Knippers as a new member at its meeting on May 25, 2024 and the plenary session of the Academy confirmed this election.

The Akademie der Künste is one of Germany’s most important cultural institutions, which has repeatedly made its voice heard on many issues of cultural and political life. Founded in 1696, the Akademie der Künste in Berlin is one of the oldest cultural institutes in Europe. It is an international community of artists in its six Sections (Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, Film and Media Arts). The Akademie der Künste is an exhibition and event location, a meeting place for artists and people interested in the arts, where public debates on art and cultural policy take place.

Award in the „Deutscher Hochschulbaupreis 2024“ for the Texoversum

The German University Building Prize is awarded by the German University Foundation under the patronage of the Federal Ministry of Building and is presented every two years. The Texoversum received one of two distinctions for the year 2024. The jury rated the holistic and consistent approach to the topic of textiles in all aspects of the project as outstanding. The experimental approach in the façade as an example of making the work in research and teaching visible is implemented here in an exemplary manner.

HygroShell at the Chicago Architecture Biennial 5

HygroShell was installed at the Thompson Center for the Chicago Architecture Biennial 5. The photo shows the members of the team respresenting the Univerity of Stuttgart at the opnening on November 1st 2023. From right: Dylan Wood, Achim Menges, Kenryo Takahashi, Jan Knippers. For more information see HygroShell

Texoversum takes off

Immediately after receiving the building permit, the groundbreaking ceremony for the start of construction of the Texoversum was held on January 26, 2021. Among others with: Prof. Dr. Hendrik Brumme, Lord Mayor Thomas Keck, Dr. Wolfgang Epp, Prof. Dr. Jochen Strähle, Südwesttextil President Bodo Th. Bölzle, Andreas Hölting and Alexander Leisner. (from left to right)